Barney Prine’s Steakhouse & Saloon
Call (541) 447-3333
About Barney Prine’s Steakhouse & Saloon
Welcome to Barney Prines Steakhouse & Saloon! A Happy Hour Menu and Lottery!
Barney Prine’s Steakhouse & Saloon located in Prineville, Oregon is known for the finest of dining. Locally owned and well established for 13 years, Barney Prines has a reputation of excellent food, spirits, and service.
Serving only choice USDA meats all hand-cut, prepared in-house and served to your specifications. Barney Prine’s provides an enjoyable dining experience. For your seafood selection, Barney Prine’s offers the largest, all fresh, seafood menu in Prineville and possibly all of Central Oregon.
Barney Prine’s Steakhouse & Saloon is open every day from 4:00 p.m. til closing. for dinner. Now serving BREAKFAST on Sunday from 9:00 a.m. til 1:00 p.m. The bar is open every day at 4:00 p.m.
Take A Step Back In Time!
Established in 1868, Prineville is the oldest community in Central Oregon. The first settlers in what was to become Crook County settled in the “Oh-cho-coe,” a Paiute word meaning “willows. The post office for the community has been established with the name of Prine, after Barney Prine, in April 13, 1871, but changed to Prineville on December 23, 1872. Prineville was founded in 1877 when Monroe Hodges filed the original plat for the city. The city incorporated in 1880 and in 1882 the county separated from Wasco County and was named for General George Crook, a recognized Indian fighter. Prineville obtained its first high school in 1902 and is also the former home of the famous J. Oscar Olsen, renowned poet and entrepreneur.
When Barney Prine settled on the banks of the Crooked River, he bu9ilt a blacksmith shop and a store-saloon. Prineville was the primary place of trade until 1911 when the Union Pacific and Oregon Trunk railways extended south from the Columbia River to Bend. In 1917, Prineville took action and voted 355 to 1, to build their own railroad to join the Oregon Trunk Railways and Union Pacific north of Redmond. In the 1930’s-1940’s the decision to build the railroad paid back the investment by shipping vast amounts of lumber over the rails. The City of Prineville still owns and operates the Railroad today.